The Curriculum Learning at West Felton

The curriculum consists of twelve subjects; Maths, Literacy, Science, Information Communication Technology (ICT), Design and Technology (D&T), Art, Physical Education (PE), Personal Social Health Education (PSHE), Religious Education (RE), Modern Foreign Languages (MFL), History and Geography.

The curriculum has been designed to deliver all aspects of the Every Child Matters agenda:

  • Being Healthy
  • Staying Safe
  • Enjoying and Achieving
  • Making a Positive Contribution
  • Preparing for Economic Well Being

Every child is catered for regardless of background. Through a rich curricular and extra-curricular programme, we will help each child to discover and develop their talents and interests. We aim to put our children at the centre of their own learning and place great emphasis on nurturing skills and attitudes such as co-operation, resilience and resourcefulness.
Our teachers bring the National Curriculum to life in many different ways. Links are made between different areas of the curriculum and it becomes more creative through topics and a thematic approach.

2015 brought with it a new curriculum and an opportunity for us to review the content of our long term planning to meet the needs of our pupils.

Here is our long term plan (on a two year rolling program)  For more details on curriculum areas please visit individual class pages.


For more information on the curriculum for each year group please follow the link below.